Subscribe to updates

You'll receive weekly summaries about Rushmoor Council every week.

If you have any requests or comments please let us know at community@opencouncil.network. We can also provide custom updates on particular topics across councils.

Audit and Governance Committee - Wednesday, 10 June 2026 - 7.00 pm

June 10, 2026 at 7:00 pm Audit and Governance Committee View on council website  Watch video of meeting

Chat with this meeting

Subscribe to our professional plan to ask questions about this meeting.

“What audit findings will be discussed?”

Subscribe to chat
AI Generated

Summary

Open Council Network is an independent organisation. We report on Rushmoor and are not the council. About us

The Audit and Governance Committee of Rushmoor Borough Council met on Wednesday, 10 June 2026, to review the external audit planning report for 2025/26 and the internal audit annual opinion for the same year. The committee also discussed the unaudited statement of accounts and the annual governance statement for 2025/26, and received updates on treasury management, corporate health and safety, and the financial recovery working group.

External Audit Proposed Audit Planning Report 2025/26

Ernst & Young (EY) presented their proposed audit planning report for the 2025/26 audit. The report outlined EY's audit approach and scope, aligning with the requirements of the Local Audit and Accountability Act 2014 and the National Audit Office's Code of Audit Practice. A key focus for the upcoming audit will be rebuilding assurance following a disclaimed audit opinion in previous years. This involves strengthening the control environment, ensuring high-quality working papers and audit evidence, and active engagement from management. EY highlighted significant risks related to the valuation of property, plant, and equipment, and investment property, due to the complex assumptions and judgements involved. The audit materiality for 2025/26 was set at £1.65 million, representing 2% of the forecast gross expenditure. The committee was informed that EY's independence had not been compromised.

Internal Audit Annual Audit Opinion 2025/26

The Southern Internal Audit Partnership (SIAP) presented their Annual Audit Opinion for 2025/26. The report concluded that the Council's framework of governance, risk management, and control is considered Reasonable, with audit testing demonstrating that controls are working in practice. SIAP's external quality assessment confirmed that they generally conform to the Global Internal Audit Standards in the UK Public Sector. However, several areas were identified as requiring improvement, including:

  • Agency Staff: A No Assurance opinion was given due to a lack of formal policies and procedures, non-compliance with procurement legislation and contract standing orders, and issues with mandatory training registration and IR35 status checks.
  • Disabled Facility Grants (DFG): A Limited Assurance opinion was issued, primarily concerning the procurement of contractors and surveyors, the absence of a contractor framework, and a lack of Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) checks for contractors. DFG documentation was also not being maintained in accordance with the retention policy.
  • Pay360: A Limited Assurance opinion was given due to deviations from National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) best practices regarding password expiry and length, ad-hoc access reviews, and reliance on a single administrator account. There was also a lack of proactive monitoring of user authentication activity and defined ownership of PCI DSS compliance.
  • Union Yard: A Limited Assurance opinion was issued, with reports submitted prior to 2021 lacking sufficient information for fully informed decision-making. The project's risk register also had instances where materialised risks were not specified with their full impact, and some entries lacked defined mitigating actions or updates.
  • Effectiveness of Financial Rules: A Limited Assurance opinion was given due to a lack of clear documentation for responsibilities and execution of controls, with some virements over £50,000 not reported to or approved by Cabinet, and a lack of approval trails for those below the threshold. Not all authorised signatories for bank accounts had been properly authorised, and the dual signatory requirement for cheques over £25,000 was not being enforced.

SIAP noted that where weaknesses were identified, appropriate corrective actions and timescales for improvement were agreed with management.

Unaudited Statement of Accounts and Annual Governance Statement

The committee reviewed the unaudited Statement of Accounts for 2025/26. Members were informed that the preparation of the statement and the audit scrutiny provided reassurance regarding the Council's financial position. An informal workshop was scheduled for September or October to provide members with an overview of the statement and the external auditor's findings.

The Annual Governance Statement for 2025/26 was also presented for approval. Members sought clarification regarding the Corporate Governance Group being on hiatus and were advised this was pending a review of its terms of reference. The committee requested that future internal audit work consider the operation and use of exemptions to normal decision-making procedures. The Annual Governance Statement was subsequently approved.

Treasury Management and Non-Treasury Investment Operations and Prudential Indicators

The committee considered reports on Treasury Management and Non-Treasury Investment Operations for the outturn of 2025/26 and Quarter 1 of 2026/27. It was noted that all activities were conducted within approved Treasury Management Practices, with a move towards longer-term borrowing to provide cost certainty and reduce interest rate exposure. The committee recommended to the Cabinet that the reports be approved.

Corporate Health and Safety Arrangements 2025/26

An update was provided on the Council's corporate health and safety arrangements. The overall health and safety risk profile was noted as low, with most high-risk activities contracted out. The number of accidents and incidents remained low and stable. Members sought clarification on the meaning of Other in incident reports, which was explained as referring to third-party reporting. Measures to protect staff from abusive behaviour were discussed, including training, incident reporting, and access to counselling.

Status of the Financial Recovery Working Group

A verbal update was given on the Council's financial position and the Financial Recovery Working Group. The majority of actions required to balance the budget had been completed, with only a few capital receipt matters outstanding. Following the announcement of Local Government Reorganisation (LGR), the Council's financial strategy shifted to maintaining service delivery and preparing for the new authority. Members expressed concern regarding ongoing financial risks and emphasised the importance of regular Member oversight. The committee supported a proposal for Cabinet to establish a politically balanced Member working group to meet monthly and review the Council's financial management for the remainder of the Council's term. The Chair agreed to write to the Leader of the Council to recommend this to Cabinet.

Attendees

Profile image for Councillor Thomas Day
Councillor Thomas Day Chair of the Policy and Project Advisory Board Labour St John's
Profile image for Councillor Thomas Mitchell
Councillor Thomas Mitchell Liberal Democrat St Mark's
Profile image for Councillor Dhan Sarki
Councillor Dhan Sarki Labour Wellington
Profile image for Councillor Sarah Spall
Councillor Sarah Spall Chair of the Licensing and Corporate Business Committee Labour North Town
Profile image for Councillor Paul Taylor
Councillor Paul Taylor Conservative Knellwood
Profile image for Councillor Stephen Masterson
Councillor Stephen Masterson Armed Forces Covenant Champion Conservative Cove and Southwood
Lucy Bingham
Profile image for Councillor Martin Tennant
Councillor Martin Tennant Conservative Cove and Southwood
Profile image for Councillor Peter Cullum
Councillor Peter Cullum Mayor of the Borough Conservative St John's
Profile image for Councillor Bill O'Donovan
Councillor Bill O'Donovan Chair of the Audit and Governance Committee Labour Cherrywood
Profile image for Councillor Craig Card
Councillor Craig Card Liberal Democrat St Mark's
Profile image for Councillor Ian Simpson
Councillor Ian Simpson Reform UK Fernhill
Profile image for Councillor Nicky Slater
Councillor Nicky Slater Labour Empress

Topics

Pay360 Ernst & Young LLP (EY) Southern Internal Audit Partnership (SIAP) Local Audit and Accountability Act 2014 National Audit Office's Code of Audit Practice Rebuilding assurance Agency Workers Disabled Facilities Grants Union Yard Effectiveness of Financial Rules Global Internal Audit Standards in the UK Public Sector Corporate Governance Treasury Management Non-Treasury Investment Operations Prudential Indicators Corporate Health & Safety Arrangements Financial recovery Local Government Reorganisation

Meeting Documents

Agenda

Agenda frontsheet 10th-Jun-2026 19.00 Audit and Governance Committee.pdf

Reports Pack

Public reports pack 10th-Jun-2026 19.00 Audit and Governance Committee.pdf

Minutes

Minutes of Previous Meeting.pdf

Additional Documents

Printed minutes 10th-Jun-2026 19.00 Audit and Governance Committee.pdf
Item 2. Rushmoor Borough Council Audit Planning Report 2026.pdf
Item 3 - Internal Audit Progress Report.pdf
Minutes of Previous Meeting.pdf